Log in

Awards Committee Members

Elliot Jurist, chair 


Monique Bowen

Brian Brown

Kritika Dwivedi

Colin Ennis

Maureen Murphy

Shara Sand


Division 39 Awards recognize the contributions and accomplishments of psychoanalytic psychologists in a number of different areas.  Division 39 Awards include the following:

Founders Award: This award honors an individual who has dedicated him/herself to the advancement of psychoanalysis, and has made enduring contributions to psychoanalytic psychology and/or psychoanalysis influencing generations of psychoanalytic psychologiststhrough research, scholarship, practice, supervision, and/or mentoring.

Leadership AwardThis award is given to a person who has demonstrated outstanding leadership by service to Division 39, and to activities advancing psychoanalytic psychology and/or psychoanalysis.

Diversity Award: This award recognizes an individual who has made important contributions in expanding knowledge and advancing issues of diversity within psychoanalytic psychology and/or psychoanalysis.

Research Award: This award is given to a person who has made significant contributions in advancing psychoanalytic research.

Scholarship Award: This award is given to a person who has made significant contributions in advancing psychoanalytic theory and practice.

2020 Awards Recipients

Leadership Award: Dennis Debiak

Research Award: Vittorio Lingiardi

Scholarship Award: David Lichtenstein

Past Awards Recipients

Past Recipients of the

Scholarship and Research Award:

2020: Vittorio Lingiardi (Research) & 

David Lichtenstein (Scholarship)

2019: Jacques Barber (Research) & 

Stephen Seligman (Scholarship)

2018: Diana Diamond (Research) & 

            Lew Aron (Scholarship)

2017: Jeremy Safran (Research) & 

            Philip Bromberg (Scholarship)

2016:  Miriam Steele (Research) &

            Melanie Suchet (Scholarship)

2015:  William Gottdiener 

2014:  Elliot Jurist

2013:  Paul Wachtel 

2012:  Nancy McWilliams 

2011:  Adrianne Harris 

2010:  Kimberlyn Leary 

2009:  Ricardo Ainslie 

2008:  Allan Schore 

2007:  Doris Silverman 

2006:  Wilma Bucci 

2005:  Judie Alpert 

2004:  Enrico Jones 

2003:  Bertram Karon 

2002:  Drew Westen 

2001:  Jessica Benjamin 

2000:  Sidney J. Blatt 

1999:  Beatrice Beebe 

1998:  Frank Lachmann 

1997:  Fred Pine 

1996:  Louise J. Kaplan 

1995:  Robert Stolorow 

1994:  Irene Fast 

1993:  Jay R. Greenberg 

1992:  Morris Eagle 

1991:  Sylvia Brody 

1990:  Marvin Hyman 

1989:  Steven A. Mitchell 

1988:  Bruno Bettleheim

Past Recipients of the 

Founders Award:

2020: Bryant Welch

2019: Marilyn Metzl

2017: Bertram Karon

2006: Oliver Kerner 
2010: Hedda Bolgar & Johanna Tabin

Past Recipients of the Leadership Award:

2020: Dennis Debiak

2019: Lynne Layton

2018: Frank Summers

2017: Steven Reisner & Stephen Soldz

2016:  Mary-Joan Gerson

2015: Richard Ruth 

2014:  Marilyn Charles 

2013:  Marsha McCary  

2012:  Maureen Murphy & Henry Seiden  

2011:  Marilyn Jacobs  

2010:  Jonathan Slavin 

2009:  Jaine Darwin 

2008:  Neil Altman 

2007:  William MacGillivray 

2006:  Lew Aron 

2005:  Nancy McWilliams 

2004:  Larry Zelnick 

2003:  Laurel Wagner 

2002:  Franklin Goldberg 

2001:  Harriette Kaley 

2000:  George D. Goldman 

1999:  Esther Mullen 

1998:  Robert Lane 

1997:  Ruth Ochroch 

1996:  Nat Stockhammer 

1995:  Rudolf Ekstein 

1994:  Bryant Welch 

1993:  Esther Menaker 

1992:  Jules C. Abrams 

Past Recipients of the Diversity Award:

2018: Scott Pytluk

2017:  Dorothy Holmes

2016:  David Ramirez

2015:  Pratyusha Tummala-Narra

2014:  Dolores Morris

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software